2021 - SCUP Distinguished Service Award Recipient

The SCUP Fund Founders

The 2021 SCUP Distinguished Service Award is presented as a group award to the founders of The SCUP Fund, which supports the research and scholars of higher education planning.

These farsighted individuals are recognized and thanked for their dedication and service in creating a philanthropic culture at SCUP. These volunteers are acknowledged for their work from 2012–2021.

Their combined efforts are also responsible for launching the SCUP Fellows Program, a prestigious professional development opportunity for planning leaders who seek to carry out new research that contributes to SCUP’s knowledge base of integrated planning.

Key dates in the SCUP Fund history:

  • In 2012, Ken Higa and Jennifer Swann, volunteers on a fundraising task force of the SCUP Board of Directors, jotted visionary ideas for a philanthropic fund for SCUP. They recommended the establishment of an advancement & development committee to the SCUP Board of Directors. It was to be the portal for philanthropic giving. A “fellows program” was envisioned as the first recipient of the contributions.
  • In 2013, the SCUP Advancement & Development Committee was initiated, with Dan Kenney as its first committee chair. That year committee members launched the SCUP Fellows Program.
  • In 2014, the first two SCUP Fellows were welcomed. The committee’s collective work has continued to strengthen the SCUP Fellows Program, and to date, 14 fellows have pursued and completed a research project in integrated planning.
  • In 2019, the newly re-named SCUP Advancement Committee adopted the SCUP Fund’s mission as “To support research and initiatives that drive innovative ideas and enterprising solutions for higher education viability and vitality”.
  • In 2020, the committee launched a strategic planning process for The SCUP Fund (in support of SCUP’s strategic plan). The resulting strategic action plan will propel The SCUP Fund’s future impact and reach, and accelerate avenues for research and service.

Since its founding, the strength of the SCUP Fellows Program has been the key reason behind the generous support of The SCUP Fund. Today, the program’s success has made it possible for the SCUP Advancement Committee to explore and support new research initiatives regarding integrated planning in higher education.

The SCUP Board of Directors, by bestowing this award, honors and recognizes the SCUP volunteers who laid the foundation and the former and current volunteer team members of the SCUP Advancement Committee 2012–2021.

Jacqueline El-Sayed*
Chief Academic Officer & Managing Director
American Society for Engineering Education
Watch their acceptance video

Elizabeth Foster*
Page Southerland Page, Inc.
Watch their acceptance video

Ken Higa*
Associate Principal
The Beck Group
Watch their acceptance video

Susan Kelley
Vice President
Institutional Advancement
Valencia College (Retired)

Daniel Kenney*
Page Southerland Page, Inc.
Chair, Advancement & Development Committee 2013-2015
Watch their acceptance video

Eugene Mackey
Mackey Mitchell Architects (Deceased)

David McIntyre*
Principal (Retired)
Watch their acceptance video

Michael Purcell
(Former) Project Executive
Office of the University Architect
American University
Co-Chair, Advancement & Development Committee 2016
Watch their acceptance video

Claude Schuttey
Campus Facilities Planning
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Retired)
Watch their acceptance video

Rick Straka*
Vice President
Finance and Administration
Minnesota State University-Mankato
Watch their acceptance video

Jennifer Swann
Biological Sciences
Lehigh University
Watch their acceptance video

Betsy Tutelman*
Senior Vice Provost
Strategic Communications
Temple University
Chair, Advancement Committee 2019-2022
Watch their acceptance video

Adam Wyatt*
Associate Professor for Integrated Medical Science
Florida Atlantic University
2014-2015 SCUP Fellow
Co-Chair, Advancement & Development Committee 2016
Chair, Advancement Committee 2017-2018

* Members of the SCUP Advancement Committee – October 2021