Emerging Leaders

Voices of Tomorrow at the Table Today

Be Part of the 2023–2024 Emerging Leaders Group

Deadline to apply is April 14, 2023.

Apply Today

Program Updates

Current Cohort
Past Cohort


Dana Wnuk
Membership and
Community Manager


The Emerging Leaders program unfolds over the course of one year and features a tailored learning experience with in-person and virtual learning, networking, and advisory opportunities.

  • Application period opens each spring.
  • Program kicks off in July at SCUP’s Annual Conference
  • Cohorts capped at 30 to facilitate networking and discussion
  • All participants receive a certificate of program completion

This program is an initiative created by the SCUP Membership Committee to provide those new to planning with guidance, knowledge, and connections.

Program Benefits

Tailored Leadership Skills

Gain a better understanding of integrated higher education planning through informative sessions presented by leaders in the field. Get access to forward thinkers in your professional space.

Valuable Networking Opportunities

Develop lasting career connections with people from diverse backgrounds and perspectives through the cohort group and advisory panel. A network of SCUP senior planning professionals provides feedback, ideas, and inspiration.

Membership Benefit

The Emerging Leaders program fee is just $175, which will be credited towards a SCUP membership at the conclusion of the program. Emerging Leaders participants receive the member registration price for the SCUP Annual Conference (scholarship opportunities available), where each cohort starts and finishes.


Eligible applicants to the Emerging Leaders program:

  • Have no more than 10 years experience in the planning field
  • Open to members and nonmembers
  • May be be self-nominated or sponsored
  • Complete the application process
  • Understand requirement to attend two SCUP Annual Conferences (additional costs)
  • Display dedication to the entirety of the program
  • Display willingness to engage in dialogue inside/outside of sessions
  • Complete payment to participate

Applications are evaluated by a committee and approved based on a point system.

SCUP 2022–23 Emerging Leaders cohort

James Lynch, College of Coastal Georgia
Cara Kreit, College of Marin
Jason Nicholas, Northern Michigan University
Ashlei Watson, College for Creative Studies
Lindsay Spiegel, Northeast Community College
Daryl Ryan, SUNY, University at Buffalo
Aaron Coe, Rio Salado College
Angela Lufkin, Stayner Architects
Heather Duda, University of Mount Union
Daniel Wilson, University of Illinois Chicago
Michael Laracy, Silman
Jason Durham, Grand Valley State University
Amanda Jones, Georgia Tech
Jennifer Pearson Hennen, Century College
Meagan Storm, DLR Group
Alison Handy, Middlesex Community College
Jack Ratino, Whiting-Turner
Kimberly Umoh, Georgia College and State University
Catharine Killien, The Miller Hull Partnership
Jarrett Muncy, Georgia Institute of Technology
Nestor DeOcampo, College of Engineering, Michigan State University
Sarah Walker, Tufts University
KatieAnne Ostrenga, Nicolet College
Ann Acob, Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
Brittany Van Eck, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Dana Prymak, Thompson Rivers University
Niccolo Boldrin, HED
Christin VanKauwenberg, Nicolet College